Skip to content

Beef Trinchado at Vasco’s

May 24, 2011

I was moving house a few months ago and, as you can imagine, was COMPLETELY and utterly OVER IT. As a welcomed break, I popped down to the old De Waterkant to meet Megario (megan + her man of the minute, mario) at Vasco’s Portuguese Taverna.

How could I possibly resist?!

Vasco’s is just sensational. Its greasy. Its grubby. And its marvellous.

Established in 1972, VASCO DA GAMA Pub & Taverna is well known as the “Portuguese Embassy”. For almost 4o years they have provided good quality “Portuguese” pub grub to a generally male patron base.

  • A real boys-boys sort of pub.

And as my father, in his twilight years tells me, it was always a MENS-ONLY pub (how awfully old fashioned! 😉 hahaha)

He and a group of his mates used to come here often. One day they even smuggled in a female business colleague of theirs, who had a particularly gruff voice. They dressed her up as a man, and were A for away.

ANYWAY – its not mens-only any more… clearly!

You can expect no frills, no fuss service.

But I personally just love the waitresses – you can see that they SERIOUSLY dont take any shit – but are genuinely just such caring lasses. Give them a smile, a please and a thank you – and they’ll always treat you like gold.  

I ordered the Trinchado starter. You JUST cannot go wrong.

trinchado starter R52

Its a large portion of succulent, melt in your mouth beef – and this sauce… THIS SAUCE is made in Trinchado heaven. There is simply nothing better. Yes – you heard me – I havent had one quite as incredible as this one anywhere else.

Yet.

CLOSE… but not just yet.

Megario

 
Sigh. I want to go back. Right. Now. 
 
 
Vasco da Gama Taverna
 

3 Albert Street

De Waterkant

T  021 425 2157

Open Monday – Saturday

Food served from 12 noon – 9pm

 

To receive my latest posts via email – please click “SUBSCRIBE” in the top right corner on the HOME page

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nigel permalink
    May 25, 2011 10:54 am

    Brilliant possum! Loved the article! Believe it or not, I’ve never been to Vasco’s but that’s about to change!

    • Nigel permalink
      May 25, 2011 10:55 am

      I’m such an old fart! I meant ‘post’ not ‘article’!!

  2. May 25, 2011 11:08 am

    SHIT Nigel – you’re funny! We should all do a rugger afternoon at Vasco’s. Brilliant vibe.

Leave a comment